[Laravel] Quick Tip: Saving Related Models with Eloquent

Recently, I encountered some difficulty in saving related models with Eloquent ORM.  I spent quite a bit of time trying to figure out why in one area of my app it saved with no problem but in another, it wouldn’t save the key/val pairs I passed to it.

Finally, (by a bit of trial and error) I realized that the call I was making to Model::accessible (a type of security feature that allows you to specify the accessible fields in a model) was, for some reason, preventing the related models from insert/updating. Once I commented that out it worked like a charm. (Note: I did go back and manually specify the fields the model should insert/update to avoid potential security problems with mass assignment).

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

