(CakePHP) Get a Database Connection Instance

In my current project I am working on, I am using CakePHP and need to fetch some data from the database very early in the request cycle (don’t worry; it’s cached to avoid unnecessary queries).

In past versions of Cake you could use ConnectionManager::getInstance(). However, in 2.2 (and possibly in earlier versions of 2.x; I do not have the time to check), this no longer works.

The solution is to use the getDataSource method. So, by calling ConnectionManager::getDataSource('default') I can retrieve an instance of the default database connection and go along my day. Yay!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

