WOOHOO!!!

25 lbs down! Even though it’s taken me something like 8 months to lost 25 lbs, I’m still really excited about this!

Usually when I try to lose some weight I’ll sign up for the gym and/or weight watchers and begin the ancient song and dance of focusing only on healthy healthy healthy. Inevitably I end up falling off the wagon within a few months and gain all the weight back, and usually a few extra.

This time I decided that while I would make a conscious effort every day to eat healthy (and hopefully get some exercise, although that has admittedly been a lot harder to keep up) I was not going to fall into the same habits as last time. I would allow myself chips or a cookie if I wanted some/it — but I would always exercise portion control. So now, instead of grabbing the bag of ruffles when I’m going to indulge in some chips + dip, I put some in a baggie and when they’re gone, that’s it.

I’m cautiously thinking this approach will work and continue working even after I get to my ultimate goal weight, because I”m allowing for the junk food instead of beating myself up over it. I’m (re-)learning that junk food is okay, as long as you don’t overindulge (like I did for so many years).

Now if only I could push myself to go to the gym!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Congrats on your loss (gain?)–well, you know what I mean. Very awesome!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

