Frameworks Part Trois (or, Sometimes when you're right, you're wrong)

Yesterday I posted about my experience trying out CI, Cake, and Kohana side by side while I work on my super-cool-blah-blah-blah idea. I mentioned how I was unable to retrieve lists of things with Cake and Kohana, and how quickly I got through things using CI + DataMapper.

Well, Houston, we hit a problem.

Last night I realized that DM was not encoding passwords before inserting/updating them in the database. I ended up changing it to just encode the posted password value and insert (not an ideal solution, IMO). This morning I was making a few other changes and running some tests and I realized something huge.

DM was not validating any of the data.

Obviously, this is a HUGE concern, and not one I was particularly interested in trying to track down and fix. On a whim I decided to give Kohana one more try, and holy [expletive] am I glad I did.

I have no idea what I was doing wrong yesterday with the ORM library but today it’s been working flawlessly (knock wood). It’s validating things the way it should, inserting and updating the way it should, and (hopefully) will help maintain the relationships the way it should.

As far as the rest of the functions and such, it was extremely easy to switch things from CI to Kohana (the fact that I’m only about 4 files in helps ;)). I’ve been able to find/figure out pretty much everything from the docs on their site and a little googling.

At this point, assuming the ORM continues working the way it should, I feel pretty good that I’ll finish up this project with Kohana.

Side note: I found a module at projects.kohanaphp.com that’s called “Debug Toolbar” and it’s pretty sweet. It shows execution time, memory consumption, all db queries, and other nerdy goodies for the developer to use. It sits at the top of the browser, out of the way, and is slightly transparent. Cool stuff!

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

