Frameworks, My Opinion Part Deux

Earlier this week I had a super-awesome-omg-eureka idea for a program. This idea was so hot that I put the forum project on the back burner so I could concentrate on this new idea – something I never do.

As I’ve mentioned here before, I love CodeIgniter. It’s fast, it’s simple, and it’s flexible. However, I decided for this project to try my hand (again) with CakePHP and Kohana, sort of creating side (CI) – by side (Cake) – by side (Kohana) to see which I was able to develop with faster.

For CI, I used CI 1.7.1 with DataMapper for ORM capabilities.
For Cake, I used the latest 1.2
For Kohana, I used the latest 2.3.1 and utilized the ORM library

Now, I was well aware that I would need to reference a lot more for Cake and Kohana, since I only had passing experience with them.  My biggest focus with them was database interaction since this app is database-driven.

I’m still pretty new to ORM, and perhaps there was something I missed, but I absolutely could not get a list of records using Cake or Kohana. I followed the docs on their respective sites and even copied a couple of examples (changing tables/fields as needed), and still nothing. I’m not sure if it’s just me but Kohana’s ORM find_all function does not seem to work at all. The only result I got was “Resource id #31”. Googling both frameworks for some insight brought me no definitive solution. I worked for nearly 3 hours on each to get a complete controller functioning, and only got as far as the C and the U.

On the other hand, using CI + DataMapper, I had a complete controller with all functions – C, R, U, and D – ready to go in less than an hour, including time to reference the DM manual.

I was also less than impressed with Cake’s atrocious loading times. I loaded the same controller from each framework, and my results were CI: 0.348, Kohana 0.83, and Cake 3.29. That means on my (admittedly lower-spec) server, it took 10x as long for Cake to load as CI! I’d hate to see the load times when the entire app was up and running :-\

I guess for now I’ll be sticking with CI + DM. If Kohana can get their ORM library fully functional I’d give them a try again; I will admit that I felt Kohana was more flexible in certain areas and allowed a bit more fine-tuning, as well as having some features that CI doesn’t (Auth, Payment modules).

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

