I've had it

I’ve been messing around with various forum software over the past week – phpBB 3, myBB, bbpress, vBulletin. They all have their pluses and minuses, but I’ve decided to create YAFS (yet another forum software) for my site, because, frankly, I’m just totally annoyed with having to bend what I want out of my forum to what is in the aforementioned software.

Overall my main complaint is that phpBB, myBB, and vBulletin are too bloated for what I need. bbPress is charming in its simplicity but it’s actually too simple for what I want.

This should be an interesting test. I will strive to post regularly on my experiences building a forum software.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. textnotspeech

     /  January 24, 2009

    You should try Vanilla forums. As the name implies, it’s simple software, but there are many plugins for it. Any it’s something to try before writing your own. Although I usually end up doing it myself too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

