i hate dentists

that’s not true. i don’t hate them – getting my teeth cleaned (while not fun) is not horrific, getting cavaties filled (again, while not fun) is, again, not horrific. my biggest fear of going to the dentist is that he’s going to get all gnarly with me about not brushing / flossing like i should. consequently, i’ve put off going to the dentist for several years.

i went to the dentist earlier today. last week i broke one of my wisdom teeth because it was pretty well decayed because of the way it came in (at about a 45 degree angle, towards my cheek). they did the x-rays and they were like the good news is that for you having had kids, plus not seeing a dentist for so long, your teeth are not horrible. the bad news is you have 3 small cavaties, a nice big one that is getting close to the root, and you need to get all 4 wisdom teeth removed (which I knew anyway).

because our insurance is so bright, they will not pay for a root canal (which the big cavity might end up requiring), but they will pay to have the tooth extracted. they’re (the dentist) hoping to be able to save the tooth but he was honest and said it was kind of a crapshoot and it could go either way.

So I get home and call the oral surgeon that they referred me to, and the receptionist tells me that the soonest i can get in is July 2nd. That’s 2 1/2 freaking months of walking around with this jagged-ass tooth rubbing against my cheek and driving me nuts. Plus, it will take another 2-4 weeks to get the oral surgery approved as well. So it will very likely be August at the very earliest I get in to get these teeth out [/rant].

Because I can be an optimist at times, I am going to look at the bright side – at least I have dental coverage, and at least it will pay for the big stuff (the fillings, the oral surgery). My mom’s told me many times over the years how she had to go without going to the dentist more than a few times because of no dental coverage. So I really just need to relax and practice patience. As far as the cavaties go, those will get filled in a few weeks – and honestly, I’m more worried about those, especially that nasty one. When I get my wisdom teeth out they’ll be knocking my ass out, so I’m not worried about that too much.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Kha

     /  May 12, 2008

    I feel your pain. Dental problems can be a real pain. Question tho, can’t you just go to a different oral surgeon who isn’t so busy?

    Reply
  2. fast times at sweet valley high

     /  May 12, 2008

    @Kha – unfortunately, I can’t 😦 This is literally the only dentist within a 50 mile radius that the insurance will cover. And for as much as this work will cost, I don’t have any other options at the moment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

