Composer, Laravel, PHP-FIG, oh my!

It’s safe to say that my “Comparing Laravel, CodeIgniter, and Cakephp” post is the most popular entry this blog gets! I’m very glad that so many people have found it informative and relatively unbiased as they look for a “toolbox” to help them build their apps.

The downside is that it was written 9 months ago – which, in the world of programming/technology, can make a lot of difference! Since I wrote the original post we’ve seen Composer take off, PHP-FIG becoming more widely adopted, and Laravel being the “it” framework in anticipation of version 4. Because I have no desire to pit framework against framework again, let’s look at these three things :)

Composer

Composer allows you to add packages to your application by adding a line to a (composer.)json file and running a simple command via command line. I was very leery of it at first but I’ve grown quite fond of it. Being able to update a Markdown or Swiftmailer package by opening my terminal and typing “composer update” is fantastic. Definitely beats the pants off trying to keep up on version number, downloading, extracting, hoping I didn’t miss something critical. The fact that it also snags the dependencies your package will need is pretty nice, too.

The only caveat I’ve found is that you do need to be aware of the dependencies, as it can quickly fill up your vendor folder with a lot of files that only that one package might use. Disk space is certainly cheap, and the number of files you use shouldn’t really matter, but it’s still a form of bloat, and could easily get out of hand — like, “Why do I have 310 folders…oh, that’s for the XYZ package”.

PHP-FIG

PHP-FIG is a group of leading PHP devs who are striving to help our code become more consistent, more interchangeable  and thus easier to read and easier for programmers to use. They have (at the time of this writing) 4 standards for coding – Autoloading, Basic Coding, Coding Style, and Logger Interface.

Many devs are up in arms that someone is “trying to tell me how many spaces to use”, that “Why can’t I use tabs?”, and “No one tells me how to code!”

Personally, I think the things laid out in each standard make sense insofar as creating smooth, consistent code readability. I don’t necessarily think that using snake_case instead of camelCase for function names really matters as long as you can figure out what the code is doing, but as far as the tabs thing goes – seriously, I forgot I was using spaces instead of tabs by the end of the first day. It’s extremely annoying to open a file from someone else and not be able to read it because their tabs are set at 5.5 and the code is all over the place.

So, I feel that we should put on our big girl/boy pants and just try to work together so we can ALL succeed.

Laravel 4

To say that Laravel 4 is on fire in the PHP world is an understatement. It hasn’t even reached stable release yet and has already been nominated for “Open Source Project of the Year” at the .net Awards. That’s an accomplishment! I’ve gone through and played with the L4 code and I both am and am not impressed.

The fact that it has been broken into multiple components and those bits can, theoretically, be used independently of the framework itself  is fantastic. The Support and Database packages are perfect examples of this, and I use both in various projects. Being able to swap other packages — for example, Cartalyst’s Sentry package — is also great. It’s interesting to see, too, how they have managed to create a way for non-static classes to be used statically (via the Facade pattern), maintaining testability while allowing easy access to often used classes (like Config, Lang, etc). That said -

L4 is not quite as decoupled as it might seem; for example, to use the Pagination package you need the Http, Support, and View packages as well as the Symfony Http-Foundation and Translation packages. That’s an awful lot of code for something that should be pretty simple, and doesn’t really lend itself to easily using it outside L4.

I also found it difficult to wade through the code to find out how something worked. For example, I wanted to have a dynamic action key in a route – something like

Route::get('foo/{wut}', 'Controller@{dynamic}')->where('wut', '(add|edit)')->where('dynamic', '(add|edit)');

It took me almost an hour to work out how L4 was setting up routes to realize that this was not going to work. I'm okay with it not working, I'm not okay with it taking me that long to follow the trail.

Other, nit-picky things - I don't care for the huge App container that is passed around; it doesn't feel much better than using global $app; or Class::$global or $this->ci->someclass, and makes it difficult when trying to debug one class (if that class has the App instance passed to it). For the majority of the projects I've worked on lately, L4 feels huge and like too much.

All this is not to say that L4 is bad or not "newbie" friendly. If you just need a solid base to get you started, L4 is fantastic and can get you going quite fast. Package development is not very difficult either and lets you add to what's already there.

As always, use what works best for you and your specific project. I would certainly not use L4 for a simple website for the local ice cream parlor, but I might consider it for a local school's community site for their sports program.

Please note I speak as someone who has programmed at least part-time since 2003 and used a framework since 2006, which is to say I'm by no means an expert but I have worked with a fair amount of code. These are simply my opinions on what I've experienced with my usage, and your own mileage may vary.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I’ve already built 5 apps in Laravel, I love it. I can only see it getting better, have you heard of phalconphp.org?

    Reply
  2. Great post (again) nerdmom! I’ve also spent some time with Laravel 4, and although I see a lot of great elements there, and I like the idea (theoretically) that Laravel may rally the PHP world in a way that ROR did for Ruby, I still get the sense that at least for now, Laravel is an experimental system. It’s just a fact that it does not have the track record of Yii, Cake, CodeIgniter, or Symnfony. Time is time. And looking under the hood, I just keep getting the feeling that L4 created a bit of a mess.

    I do really like that Laravel has all the power for great apps, and yet the logic and syntax is very clear.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers

